As I write this, rain is pounding on the window courtesy former Hurricane Isaac.  We need the rain, even thought I heard yesterday that August was the wettest on record here.  Despite that, the Wabash River is still at near record lows, evidence of how severe the drought has been.  We are supposed to get a pretty good soaking today.  I’ll take it.

The first week of school is over.  Things went well I think, not counting a problem with my Journal and Courier e-subscription (no surprise there,) a missing video camera that later turned up, and rooms that were alternately hot and cold.  This past week began my 35th year in education.  I find myself thinking that I’ve become one of those “old teachers” I marveled at when I first started teaching.  “You’ve been teaching HOW long?”  Wow.  I read a blurb online after Neil Armstrong’s passing that said half of the people on this planet were not alive when he walked on the moon.  I remember dragging our portable TV (it was like a boat anchor) out onto the front porch and watching the moonwalk on TV while I could look up and see the moon.  Surreal, even after all these years.  As an “established” teacher, I keep getting asked by folks when I am going to retire.  It used to be something I never really thought about.  I think about it almost every day now.  I’ve always said I would keep at it as long as I felt I was contributing, and still enjoyed it.  I think I am still contributing and I do still enjoy it.  Our radio station, WJEF, was granted another license renewal back in August, good for another 8 years.  When I looked at that date, August 1, 2020, I decided I didn’t want to still be teaching then.  The phrase “another 5 years” seems to be rattling around in my head.  Time will tell.

This post is actually a “do-over.”  I had finished the first version and checked something in another screen, only to find out everything was erased.  The first version had my usual complaining about the meddling in education by the state.  Except for that last sentence, I will refrain from any more.  This time.

I hope the weather is great where you are and that you enjoy the Labor Day weekend.  Thanks for stopping by.