A few posts back I detailed my experiment with state-of-the-art TV watching.  At least it was state-of-the-art for me.  I tried a USB fob that allowed me to connect Comcast cable to my laptop, and then I hooked up my TV as an external monitor.  The remote for the “fob” didn’t work well and I could not see us getting used to this new setup, despite the tremendous monetary savings per month.  Enter an old friend.  TiVo.  TiVo is basically a DVR that works with your cable company’s signal.  It has much more elegant interface than the 1990s looking interface Comcast is currently using.  It’s a slick piece of hardware.  Anyway, it works well and we are once again “DVRing”  I returned the DirecTV receivers but am leaving the dish on the roof for now.  I did remove the antenna I had up there (described in a very early blog post as the “Comcast Killer.”  I started with just our basic cable package but soon realized I just couldn’t be without many of the programs we like to watch, so I upgraded our cable package, but am still saving quite a bit of money.  The TiVo deal is a one year commitment so I can reassess at that time.  Here is a picture of the TiVo Premiere box we are using.

Comcast really needs to upgrade the user interface on their HD cable boxes.

Stay Tuned.

“Everyone has a purpose in life.  Perhaps yours is watching television.”  David Letterman.